An Open letter to Angelica McDaniel, Steve Kent the Bell family

• Members
Hello my name is Dave Arlotto and I have been a long time fan of CBS soaps more importantly Y&R. Ever since I came home, where my grandfather would watch the show during my school lunch. The storyline of Jack and Brad takeover of Newman and Victor smashing their picture from that day on I was hooked. I am writing this letter out of concern and fear for the show. Understand I did not only become a fan of the show, but also a fan of the industry and what goes on behind the scenes at the show. You can say that I’m a student of William J Bell. The one thing I disliked more is soaps of ABC.This is not a knock at those shows but I like many Y&R fans liked the stability behind and in front camera. Everything from the music to the core characters, that is what made Y&R iconic unlike no other show. In saying that under the current direction of the show, Y&R has and will continue to be unrecognizable and that needs to change for the health of the show. It didn’t just start with Jill Farren Phelps it began with Lynn Marie Latham who was allowed to come in and get rid of the entire creative team and others behind the scenes. Until Marie Arena Bell was hired during the writing staff strike, but her biggest mistake was not surrounding her self with Bell people and that was her ultimate mistake. Notice a pattern? Jill Farren Phelps now ex producer has overseen four soaps Santa Barbara, Another World, Guiding Light, One Life to Live and all four have been cancelled and that’s no coincident. General Hospital has survived and it’s only because the network was smart enough to get rid of the women before it was too late. If this woman was an executive in any other industry other then the soap industry and she was responsible for the failing of four major products. No company would ever hire her for a high profile product like Y&R. It is because of her management style of firing veteran actors and actresses and r