Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
ranger1rg

Bright Promise

Recommended Posts

Reposting this BP cover

MORE YOU MIGHT LIKE

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

NOVEMBER 1969

Monday, November 3: Sandra realizes that Dave could make trouble for Bill Ferguson. Martha’s anxiety over Bill’s relationship with Sandra prompts her to write Sandy a letter.

Tuesday, November 4: Ann attempts to uncover Sandra’s feelings for Bill. Mike relates some rather unexpected news to Tom. Dave presents Bill with an ultimatum.

Wednesday, November 5: Bill is faced with a weighty decision regarding professional ethics. Sandra finds herself confused by Martha’s recent invitation.

Thursday, November 6: Bill confronts Tom with his problem. Sandra’s visit doesn’t seem to placate Martha’s mounting worry.

Friday, November 7: Bert finds his son Mike is to become a father. Bill rejects Martha’s insinuations of a personal relationship existing between he and Sandra.

Monday, November 10: Tom is puzzled about how to approach Bill concerning the relationship that should exist between a student and a teacher. After great hesitation, Bert reveals the truth about Mike and Dawn to Alice. 

Tuesday, November 11: Jennifer becomes miffed over her and Chet’s apparent lack of togetherness. Sandra tells Ann of her lunch with Martha.

Wednesday, November 12: Red presents Dave Martin’s case to Tom. Martha is faced with the fact that she may have spoiled her marriage.

Thursday, November 13: Sandra confides her relationship to Dave with Bill. Ann attempts to reassure Martha that she has nothing to fear about Sandra, but should seek to cement her marital ties.

Friday, November 14: Tom notices that Red may be taking a personal interest in Ann. Tom surprises Ann with a proposal.

Monday, November 17: As unexpected development in Mike’s life draws Tom and Ann closer to him. Jennifer is afraid that Chet will be forced to withdraw from medicine.

Tuesday, November 18: George makes several inferences about Bill to Martha. Martha, however, is not insensitive to George’s mounting envy of Bill.

Wednesday, November 19: Bill becomes infuriated by George Townley’s insinuating remarks. Henry feels that Bill should confine his student relationships.  

Thursday, November 20: Tom learns of Dawn’s death. Jennifer tells Chet of her undisclosed visit to Professor Mitchell. Tom makes an attempt to contact his son, Jimmy.

Friday, November 21: Ann tells Tom of Red’s suspicion of Bill. Bill becomes aroused by Sandy’s expression of adoration.

DECEMBER 1969

Monday, December 22: Martha reflects on the past of Christmas with her father. Henry is pleased by Martha’s renewed understanding and acceptance of Sandra.

Tuesday, December 23: Though the shadows of loss and sorrow linger, Tom looks to the future for himself and his son, Jimmy. George Townley finds himself wanting to know Sandra better.

Wednesday, December 24: Red tells Anna bout his life in an effort to win her confidence. Martha is elated by the Christmas gift she receives from Bill.

Thursday, December 25: A Christmas Day of Joy, of living, of belief, and remembrance is shared by Tom and Ann, Bill and Martha, and Sandra and Jimmy.

Friday, December 26: Sandra makes an overt attempt at being friendly with Dave. Jennifer is adamant about Chet’s remaining in medical school and becoming a doctor. Sandra begins to realize there is but little hope for a deeper relationship with Bill.

JANUARY 1970

Monday, January 19: Ann senses Jim’s dislike for Marian, but tries to overlook it. Martha’s long suppressed suspicions prove to be correct.

Tuesday, January 20: Martha represses her need to expose Bill, despite her inner turmoil. Red seeks to protect Ann from any possible repercussions resulting from her recent decision. 

Wednesday, January 21: Unsure of what decision to make, Chet goes to see Prof. Mitchell. Martha finds it necessary to circumvent the truth to protect herself and Bill.

Thursday, January 22: Ann receives a letter from Sandra’s mother. With the threat of possible scandal, Tom decides to alert Bill.

Friday, January 23: Jim does something out of impulse that he cannot explain. Unknown to Bill, he is seen leaving Sandra’s apartment.

Monday, January 26: Martha finds that she cannot pinpoint Bill’s feelings for Sandra. Bill’s most recent visit to Sandra’s apartment could prove troublesome for him.

Tuesday, January 27: A phone call from Bill creates embarrassment and uncertainty for Martha. Ann attempts to steer Sandra away from a potentially unpleasant situation.

Wednesday, January 28: Sandra finds out that Bill was seen leaving her apartment. Tom realizes he can no longer protect Bill if he persists in maintaining his relationship with Sandra.

Thursday, January 29: Bill asks Sandra to accompany him on a trip. Jim Boswell and Red Wilson meet for the first time.

Friday, January 30: George suspects that something is going on between Sandra and Bill and determines to learn the truth.

FEBRUARY 1970

Monday, February 9: Martha wonders if the end of her marriage is drawing near in the face of humiliation and Bill forced to make a choice.

Tuesday, February 10: Marion advises Tom to be watchful of Jim. Jim’s feelings for Ann are more than platonic.

Wednesday, February 11: Martha seeks to make Bill happy and at ease with himself. Bill and Sandra reach a momentous decision.

Thursday, February 12: Martha realizes that she has forced Bill to make a decision about Sandra. Bill is reproachful of George for having upset Martha. Bill makes it clear that he only wants Sandra back.

Friday, February 13: George pays a visit to Tom. Martha reconciles herself to the fact that Bill will be honest with her, unaware of Bill’s compelling thoughts of Sandra.

Monday, February 16: Bill’s physical anguish over Sandra leads him to point of no return. Dave confides to Red his suspicions of Bill.

Tuesday, February 17: Marian knows that any mention of Ann will bring on a reaction from Jim. Jim tells Ann of his love for her.

Wednesday, February 18: Marian senses Jim’s overt admiration for Ann and decides to question her. Henry is dubious of Martha’s reasons for wanting a child.

Thursday, February 19: Bill learns of Martha’s desire to adopt a child. Ann knows she cannot allow herself the chance to prove her feelings to Jim.

Friday, February 20: Stu Pierce arrives at Bancroft to start a law practice. Martha makes a point of having Sandra meet her brother Stu.

MARCH 1970

Monday, March 16: Tom and Bill disagree over bill’s attitude toward marriage and solidarity. Martha asks where she stands in Bill’s life.

Tuesday, March 17: Bill reassures Martha that he wants to maintain their marriage. Jim becomes irate when he finds Red at Ann’s apartment.

Wednesday, March 18: George informs Marian of the campus gossip circulated about Bill and Sandra. Red advises Henry to intervene in the unsavory situation fostered by Bill. Dave pushes Sandra to the breaking point.

Thursday, March 19: Marian and Tom discuss her recent conversation with George Townley. Bill withdraws as a candidate for chairman of Bancroft’s English department. 

Friday, March 20: Sandra tells Stu her views on living. George leaves no stone unturned in his interview at the adoption agency.

Friday, March 27: Colleen Gray’s last episode as Ann Boyd.

Monday, March 30: Gail Kobe assumes the role of Ann Boyd.

APRIL 1970

MAY 1970

Monday, May 25: Stu sets out to persuade Sandra not to visit Bill in jail. George betrays a confidence when he tells Red about Jim Boswell.

Tuesday, May 26: The assistant district attorney seeks to make a deal with Howard to obtain a murder confession from Bill. Martha knows that despite everything she will more than likely have to appear in Bill’s defense at the trial.

Wednesday, May 27: Martha agrees to appear as a character witness for Bill. Howard presents in court his opening statement for the defense.

Thursday, May 28: Ann goes to Tom with Jennifer and Chet’s problem. Bill is stirred by a ray of hope when he learns Martha will testify on his behalf.

Friday, May 29: Stu tells Henry and Martha of his intentions to marry Sandra. Martha shares her disturbance over Stu’s recent decision with Ann.

May 1970: Peter Ratray (Stu), Susannah Darrows (Sandra), Paul Lukather (Bill), Richard Eastham (Red), Eric James (Jim), Robert Hogan (assistant DA), Mark Miller (Howard), Susan Brown (Martha), Nancy Stephens (Jennifer), Gary Pillar (Chet), David Lewis (Henry), Lesley Woods (Isabel), Ed Gilbert (Lt. Rutkowski), Marion Brash (Marian), Nigel McKeard (George), Rusty Lane (Judge).

JUNE 1970

JULY 1970

Monday, July 6: Martha cannot bring herself to accept Sandra, despite her love for Stu. Bill takes a badgering from the district attorney when he fails to explain his reasons for lying.

Tuesday, July 7: Tom’s anxiety over his son Jim begins to ease. Jennifer is not reassured by Chet’s promise to return to medical school. Martha goes to visit Ann.

Wednesday, July 8: Sandra discusses her mother’s unstable life with Howard. Ann shows concern over Sandra’s health. Red seeks to use Marion as a go-between with Tom.

Thursday, July 9: Marion forced a bitter argument with Tom. Tom goes to visit bill in jail. To the surprise of the court and the district attorney, Howard petitions to introduce new evidence in Bill’s trial

Friday, July 10: Townley’s subpoenaed by defense. A dramatic and revealing scene erupts when Emily Woodhue, the city librarian takes the stand.

Monday, July 13: George Townley confesses, and Bill is released.

Tuesday, July 28: Ann gives Howard her answer.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is known that Feank and Doris Hursley created Bright Promise and were initial headwriters but reading through this thread there is no information about their tenure.

Did they actually write the show or just oversee the story projections?

Rick Edelstein, Larry Brody and Jiohn D Hess all get credit on IMDB but Richard DeRoy is credited by Writers Guild for 1971 episodes.

So can anyone shed light on the Bright Promise writers?

Edited by Paul Raven

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.



×
×
  • Create New...