Thoughts On A Different World Season Six

Franko

• Members

@j swift, @DRW50

(For anyone who doesn't know, I've been writing recaps/commentary on various TV shows for over six years. It started at the old AV Club and now continues at the Disqus channel What's On Tonight. I've done everything from ALF to SOAP and would someday like to collect it all in a book. I'm hoping to finish ADW this week, followed up by a week of Disney park anniversary and opening specials. I hope you all like this and I'm sure we'd all welcome you at WOT.)

Episodes 120-124

-- It's a tale of three sitcoms. We have The Marriage of Dwayne and Whitley fighting for airtime against The Courtship of Shazza/Freddie/Ron/Kim and <i>A Different World: The New Class</i>. While nobody gives a bad performance in this batch, I give my crown to the sextet of Jada Pinkett, Ajai Sanders, Karen Malina White, Bumper Robinson, Patrick Malone and Jenifer Lewis. The newcomers immediately fit in and the established characters grow richer.

-- The batch begins with "Honeymoon in L.A.," a two-parter directed by Debbie Allen with episodes written by Susan Fales-Hill and Glenn Berenbeim. We learn that Dwayne and Whitley's vacation coincided with the post-King verdict riots. It may be fun visiting Venice Beach, Rodeo Drive, the Walk of Fame and the Chinese Theatre, but there's still the matter of whether or not society is all that advanced. She's hopeful and he's apprehensive. Following an argument* over going shopping vs. attending a basketball game, Dwayne and Whitley spend a little alone time. She'll be ready for him to pick her up from the mall if Denzel, Eddie or Wesley don't do it first.

*Taking place on an L.A. street suspiciously empty of pedestrians or any other drivers.