You Are In Charge Of Digital Programming: Cancelled Soaps Edition

• Members

It seems as though the current daytime soaps are finally starting to utilize digital platforms, streaming in particular, to expand their reach and each of their brands.

This is a good thing, as I have been saying for several years now. Still, I can't help but think about all those beloved soaps of yore that could have benefited from some digital programming but some daytime dramas were either long cancelled, or did not utilize the technology early enough in the nascent days of streaming.

If you were in charge of digital programming for a cancelled daytime soap, how would you go about doing this? The soap is already cancelled, so we're not talking about reboots or revivals, not are we pretending that the show never went off the air. Everything is the same except there will now be a digital platform created for your favorite cancelled daytime soap and you're in charge of it and how it will be run.

Have at it and have fun.

Okay, I'll go first.

As The World Turns

Streaming Platform: YouTube 

Uploading vintage episodes to a dedicated As The World Turns YouTube channel, especially from 1979-1989.  (Supposedly, there are little to no surviving episodes predating 1979. I am still somewhat dubious about these claims). Uploads would be scheduled daily, four episodes per day.

There would be viewing parties with a live stream and moderated chats for special episodes like Thanksgiving, Christmas, wedding, costume balls/galas, Emmy nominated/Emmy award winning, highest rated, groundbreaking and cliff-hanger episodes.

Selected cast and crew to discuss the creative and production process behind specific episodes in-depth (pre-recorded, if not live) to air after the episode has been uploaded.

A dedicated social media page where fans can not only find clips and pics from the daytime serial but the social media information of all available former cast members of ATWT.