The View From A Emmy Voter

JackPeyton

• Members

I've been reading everyone's comments on this message board - and other's. I understand how everyone is surprised, and disappointed, by some of this year's nominees. I was as well.

But as a member of the Academy for almost two decades, I've yet to figure out how to make the system work. I'm proud to work in daytime and always want the best of the best to be nominated -- but how does that happen?

First, you should know, I'm a writer. I can only vote in Best Writing and Best Show. And I have done that again and again over the years.

First, I showed up in person when that was the system. Many people didn't because it could sometimes require a full day of consecutive Saturday and Sunday screenings. (And when you are working full time, that's not always so appealing.)

Then it got switched to voting at home, where you just had to cast one vote for each show. You could cast 1 or 4 votes, and many people assumed everyone voted for their own show and no one else.

Rightly, the shows with smaller staffs complained that was unfair. So now people are sent DVDs, but you cannot judge your own show. If you have a conflict of interest, you cannot vote for the show. (This is writing, don't know how acting is handled.)

It used to be just give each show a score. Now, to try and make things better, there are three different categories you are assigning a point total to. I think that was added because of complaints about "stunt" submissions. The thought being, yes, you could submit a great stunt, but how well did you pull it off?

Not perfect, but I admired the Academy for trying to address problems.

That said, there will always be bias and prejudice -- and if not that, just subjective choices. Everybody doesn't like the same thing.

So here are some of the things that affected my voting, for writing:

-- Do you just go on submitted episodes, or the whole year?