Heavy Rain for the PS3

EricMontreal22

• Members

I'm not too into video games--I tend to get bored unless there's a really great story, which is why I miss the low tech point and click adventure games from the 90s (Gabriel Knight, Monkey Island, Grim Fandango etc). Even when there is a compelling story, often the level of endless fighting and repetition has me lose interest in a game I loved, a day or two into playing.

But I've been tracking this game for the past three years now--the French designer David Cage made Fahrenheit (or Indigo Prophecy in the US) which I thought was one of the best video games of the decade--a really great attempt to make a moody supernatural thriller where the story and characters were as deep as in a big budget movie, but it was a game. It was flawed though--the control system, while a brave attempt to mix action play with the old point and click system, was not really successful.

Anyway, this review basically makes Heavy Rain sound like everything I hoped it would be... Clearly, people really into action games will not like it. Still, I hope it's a big success.

It sounds like hardcore action gamers may have similar issues with Heavy Rain that they did with Fahrenheit--though less so. Its Metacritic score is outstanding, but the reviews do say that you'll love it or hate it, that some gamers will claim it's just an interactive movie, etc, etc.

METACRITIC SCORE 89% Positive

Some quotes:

"Heavy Rain is not a perfect game, maybe it's not a videogame at all. It's an involving experience that no one has created before and that will remain in videogamers' hearts forever."

"Heavy Rain isn’t just a masterpiece; it’s an ingenious step in the right direction...This may very well be the most “human” game ever made, and an absolute triumph for the industry. Take from that what you will."