Good Opinion Piece on Lack of Gays on Network TV

EricMontreal22

• Members

The G&M tv critic is a self aknowledged grump but one I actually usually agree with:

A good piece in yesterday's Globe & Mail (which is kinda the Canadian equivalent to the NY Times) about gays on network tv, etc. I'm pasting the whole thign here as the website only works for subscribers:

Thank God for gay neighbours on Wisteria Lane

JOHN DOYLE

E-mail John Doyle | Read Bio | Latest Columns

October 25, 2007

So I read in the paper about this Dumbledore chap being gay.

You probably read it about it too, this being big news, apparently. Perhaps, like me, you were unsure of the identity of this Dumbledore. See, I'm no expert on the Harry Potter thing. Because I'm old and cranky, I suppose. (I'm not really, but Teddy, my former Occasional Summer Assistant, took that view daily.) I saw a Harry Potter movie on a plane, once, but was distracted from the drama by my ever-present copy of the Good Book. And yes, the Good Book is J.P. Donleavy's The Ginger Man.

Anyway, moving along - and thank heavens, says you - the emergence of a gay character in popular culture seems to have caused an inordinate amount of fuss. This is especially true of the U.S. media, which has reacted as if Dubya had announced that Mel B was his favourite Spice Girl and Tinky Winky was his favourite Teletubby.

The fact is that there are too few gay characters on U.S. network TV. It's a bizarre anomaly, and there is good reason to savour the arrival of gay neighbours on last Sunday's episode of Desperate Housewives.

It was done with delicious wit and irony. Bob (Tuc Watkins) and Lee (Kevin Rahm) moved to Wisteria Lane because Bob was fed up with the seediness of the city and fancied a nice, clean life in the suburbs. It appears that Bob is a businessman and Lee, obviously his long-time companion, is the househusband. Lee's not too thrilled about moving to the 'burbs. He's quite pointedly suspicious of the whole thing.