Michelle Stafford interview in SOD about her Y&R exit

• Members

Staff_cover.jpg

and here's an excerpt:

Digest: How would you feel if the show recast you?

Stafford: You know what? Let's be honest with this. I absolutely think they will if they haven't already done it. They are just going to be quiet about it. And I say this because the character is so instrumental in the show, and I really, really take it as a compliment that they don't want to lose the character. The character of Phyllis is such a driver of people's stories. She is so instrumental in how they are writing the story now, very instrumental in Jack's life, Avery's life, Summer's life and Nick's life. Phyllis created conflict. This is a soap opera. As a producer, I see how they can't lose the character. I'm pretty sure they will recast. They may, as a courtesy, ask if I wanted to come back; I don't know, they may not. It's okay with me. It doesn't matter because I am done. I'm completely done. And I'm not upset if they recast, I totally would understand. Even when I called Angelica [McDaniel, head of CBS Daytime], I said, 'You will probably recast.' And she said, 'No, no, no. We won't recast.' And I said, 'Well, I have some ideas, if you are interested.'

• Replies 88
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

Very interesting that SHE insists onc alling Angelica McDaniels to tell her about her exit... Could JFP have played hard ball with MS and handed her a very slashed down take it or leave it contract renewal?? If so: good for her!

I'm sure it's being a mom. THats what you say until you get a hot new gig to brag about. LOL

• Members