What degree do I need to get my foot in the door of Soap Writing?

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

Probably a really good degree....What's funny for me is that I generally hate writing, but I am up to the challenge of writing a soap, and you probably have to be really skilled at writing a lot of different essays/stories etc... to obtain that type of degree.

• Members

Either degrees in Creative Writing, Film, or English Traditional (which I'm currently obtaining) would be the best degrees. However, nowadays, you really don't need a degree to break into the industry as a writer. Networking and workshoping can land you a job quick too. And the usual starting positions would be either writer's assistant (an intern), staff writer (dialogue writer), or breakdown writer.

• Members

A little disclosure-- I have a degree in Writing. I would say, while a degree doesn't hurt, you definitely need connections. I never seriously considered soaps, although someone once passed me an application for a Writers program for ABC/Disney a few years ago. I was still in school at the time so I was not eligible but I never inquired about it further because I'm not a TV writer.You may want to check out some of those programs (NBC/Universal also has one, I believe) and see what their requirements are and if you meet them. Make sure you meet those requirements or else, honestly, you're wasting your time. The Hollywood Reporter used to be a great resource for production jobs, to get a foot in the door. I once actually got a freelance job by looking in their magazine and just sending my resume/cover letter to a bunch of places. Now, they no longer publish information like contact names, telephone numbers or addresses of any kind. Boo.